Meiotic Division


ninja icon


•  One diploid nucleus divides by meiosis to produce four haploid nuclei

•  Separation of pairs of homologous chromosomes in the first meiotic division halve the chromosome number

Meiosis is the process by which sex cells (gametes) are made in the reproductive organs

  • It involves the reduction division of a diploid germline cell into four genetically distinct haploid nuclei

The process of meiosis consists of two cellular divisions:

  • The first meiotic division separates pairs of homologous chromosomes to halve the chromosome number (diploid  haploid)
  • The second meiotic division separates sister chromatids (created by the replication of DNA during interphase)

Summary of Meiosis

meiotic division summary