Types of Cells

All living organisms can be classified into one of 3 domains (or 5 kingdoms) based on specific cell characteristics

  • Prokaryotes belong to one of two domains – Archaea and Eubacteria – which collectively form the kingdom Monera
  • Eukaryotes comprise a third domain and can be divided into four kingdoms – Protista, Plantae, Fungae and Animalia

Classification of Kingdoms

5 kingdoms table

Organisation of Domains and Kingdoms

5 kingdoms